Yoga News

15 thoughts on “B.K.S. Iyengar

  1. It is very good to see BKS Iyengar’s quotations. And he also elaborated and said the following as mentioned in Yoga Sutras by Patanjali.

    “Sthira Sukham Asanam” which refers to 3. Yoga Asana’s in the eight limbs described by Patanjali.

    1. Yama
    2. Niyama
    3. Asana
    4. Pranayama
    5. Pratyahara
    6. Dharana
    7. Dyana
    8. Samaadhi

    Sthira Sukham Asanam —- means attaining or reaching towards a comfortable yoga posture and staying there for a period according to one’s own ability.

    It is not sitting alone comfortably in a meditative posture. Here also you should feel comfortable when you are sitting erect and concentrating. It is not the Kriyas alone or nowadays they call Kriya Yoga alone is sufficient to raise up the level. Kriyas comes under cleansing techniques. So Kriyas comes under Ashtangha Yoga.
    Pranayama is one of Kriyas namely.,

    Kriyas :

    1. Pranayama
    2. Jala Neti
    3. Nauli

    But these are the four different Yoga’s or paths that one can take their soul through as mentioned in Bhagavad Gita.

    1. Bhakti Yoga
    2. Gnana Yoga
    3. Karma Yoga
    4. Ashtangha Yoga

  2. Pingback: B.K.S. Iyengar | Minnesota Yogi

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s