Yoga Bloomington

Bloomington Power Yoga

I’ve decided to stop teaching yoga at Bloomington Power Yoga. My final class will actually be tomorrow, December 19th, and 4:00pm. Most of my students have probably already left town for the holidays, but if anyone is around, I’d love to see you in class. It’s supposed to be an Ashtanga class, but, most likely, I’ll teach it as a Level 2 flow class.

I started Bloomington Power Yoga back in February of 2007, as a one-man operation out of a living room in someone’s house. I started with just one class, a Sunday evening “candlelight flow class,” and within three years BPY has grown to include 6 teachers and over 14 classes a week. It’s been an amazing experience for me to teach yoga, something I never really thought I’d do. Ultimately, though, I don’t plan to make a career out of teaching yoga (even though I have entertained the idea before), and now I need to devote more time to my actual career, which is as a philosopher. The rest of the teachers at Bloomington Power Yoga will continue on without me, and I’m sure they will take good care of all our wonderful and dedicated students.

There’s a small possibility that I might teach yoga again here in Bloomington, if not at Bloomington Power Yoga, then somewhere else. But, as of now, I am switching gears and focusing more on my PhD studies. Of course, this doesn’t mean that I’ll stop practicing yoga, and, if anything, not teaching will give me more time to focus on my own practice.  It might also mean that I’ll be posting more on the blog, especially on topics having to do with self practice, specific postures, and yoga and rock climbing.

5 thoughts on “Bloomington Power Yoga

  1. Eugene,
    I am sorry I could not make it today. You will be greatly missed!!! As a PhD student myself, I completely understand your decision. It was a pleasure! Namaste, Silvia.

  2. Do not give up teaching yet. Being a Yoga teacher is not easy. My wife got her teaching certificate many years ago. I would say it was a hobby instead. However, it is getting much better now. Keep going and your Yoga teaching will sustain.

  3. Looking forward to reading your posts on yoga and rock climbing! I do both and find that yoga complements rock climbing very nicely. Good luck with your studies!

Leave a Reply

