Yoga Stuff

The New Manduka

The new eKO mat by Manduka is making its debut right now. You can actually buy it at some studios already, or you can pre-order it on the Manduka website. The mats ship, I think, on October 15th. They’re giving 10% off if you pre-order now.

I’ve actually had a chance to try out the new mat, but only in a demo setting. Once I actually get my new mat and put it to use in a class setting for a week or so, I’ll post a more thorough review. In the meantime, here are some of my initial impressions of the mat:

1. The mat weighs the same as the classic Black Mat, but somehow it feels flimsy in comparison.

2. The eKO is a bit squishier than the Black Mat, for better or worse.

3. The eKO is a little stickier, it seemed to me, than the Black Mat. It’s made of natural rubber, so it has a texture/feel that is very similar to the Jade Harmony Mat.

4. My biggest concern is durability. Let’s see how it stands up to some serious usage…

More thoughts, comments, etc. once I get my new eKO and take it for a test spin.

5 thoughts on “The New Manduka

  1. last Saturday I tested the new eko Black Mat from Manduka and all I can say is WOW!!!!!!!!!!! It is the perfect blend of firmness and cushion. It is very grippy and gets better as it gets wetter. I am throwing away my Jade mat.

    Lexa

  2. Can’t wait to hear your feedback on the new Manduka Eko mats coz I’m seriously considering getting one! Please keep us posted! Thx.

  3. Hi Crissy,

    My update after a few months of using the new Eko mat is that it’s still great! I use it exclusively now, and have retired my old Black Mat to the closet.

    The Eko has held up really nicely (unlike other eco-friendly mats like the Hugger Mugger or Jade) and it’s still sticky as heck. So, I have zero complaints after using the Eko for a few months. It’s definitely my mat of choice, and I’m sticking with it.

  4. defi ..eko madunka mat is the way to go —-plus why wouldn’t we use eco friendly products…I am promoting this to everyone I meet….

    Tyler Jensen
    San Diego
    gogreenyogamats.com

Leave a Reply

