Yoga Los Angeles / Yoga Musings

Yoga on Drugs!?

Earlier this week, perhaps for the first time in my entire life, I was in a yoga class with someone who appeared to me to be high as a kite on some kind of drug. To say the least, it was very distracting.

I suspect that this individual was on meth, ecstasy, or coke. He displayed what I think are telltale signs of being high on one of these drugs. The most noticeable of these signs was his constant grinding of the teeth and wiggling of his lower jaw. From the start of the class, even in our first Down-Dog, I thought this man’s heart was going to explode out of his chest. He was panting, sweating, fidgeting like crazy. The only other explanation for his physical state and his intense breathing at the beginning of the class would be that he had literally just run three miles and ran straight onto his yoga mat.

Of course, I could be totally wrong that this person was on drugs. But if I’m wrong, then this guy is the most hyper person I have ever seen in my life. I do hope that I am wrong, but based on what I saw, the best explanation seems to be that he was high on something.

I thought of saying something to someone at the front desk of the yoga studio after class, partially out of concern for the man, and partially out of irritation at the distraction that he was causing. I didn’t end up saying anything, though, and hoped that it would prove to be an isolated incident. Much to my surprise, I saw the same guy in class yesterday, and he behaved in very much the same way.

I’m not sure what to do, or if I should do anything at all. Other students definitely took notice of this man’s behavior, and I imagine that at least some of them had the same idea that I did. On the one hand, I don’t want to offend anyone by saying something, especially if this guy is not using drugs, and, say, he has some kind of illness that causes him to behave in the way that he does. On the other hand, I do find him to be very distracting in class, and, for his own sake, he probably should not be doing rigorous yoga if he’s on any of the drugs I mentioned.

If anyone else has had a similar experience in yoga class, I wonder if you could share your thoughts on how to handle this sort of situation.

Leave a Reply

