Digital Asana Project

Digital Asana Project: Headstand into Viparita Dandasana

This transition is definitely fun, albeit a bit scary the first few times. My back is still not open enough to do the drop-back from Salamba Sirsana (Headstand) into Viparita Dandasana very smoothly, but I hope that this video gives you a general idea of what it’s supposed to look like.

First, I come into traditional Headstand (and almost wipe out). Then, I start to bend my knees and take my feet towards the floor. As I do this, I also lift my head entirely off the floor and start to push my chest towards the opposite wall. This allows me (at least in theory) to take a little more of a back bend and to get my feet even closer to the floor. Basically, I try to continue this movement — head off the floor, chest forward, feet down — until I can’t hold it any more and I fall over to the mat. Dropping back here is of course the scary part; but I try to remind myself that the floor is pretty darn stable, and it isn’t going anywhere. So as long as I don’t do anything crazy like panic and flail about, my feet will hit the floor eventually, and everything will be fine. Once my feet hit the mat, I walk them in a little closer towards my head and take Viparita Dandasana for a breath or two. The head is entirely off the ground here, and the gaze is moving progressively toward the hands while the chest continues to extend in the opposite direction away from my feet. Finally, I plant my hands and come into Urdvha Dhanurasana (aka Full Wheel). I finish off the sequence by coming down to the mat slowly and taking my knees into my chest, releasing the lower back. Whew! Repeat two to three times if so inclined.

Disclaimer: I am not a certified yoga instructor, and the ideas and opinions expressed here are not intended to be formal instruction on yoga poses. If you plan to start up a yoga practice, or if you have one and plan to do any of the yoga poses described in this blog, please seek out an experienced, living, breathing yoga teacher to guide you with hands-on instruction.

Leave a Reply

