Digital Asana Project

Digital Asana Project: Tripod Headstand to Mayurasana

The transition from Mukta Hasta Sirsasana (Tripod Headstand) to Mayurasana (Peacock Pose) is one of the most difficult I’ve ever attempted. One tricky part is obviously the balance in each asana, but equally important is the subtle shifting of weight as you move from one asana into the next. As with most transitions of this type — i.e. inversion “X” into arm balance “Y” — the key here is to realize that your center of gravity is constantly changing as you transition between the poses. That is to say, the transition involves a lot more than brute strength. Sure, you need to have the right amount and right kind of strength in the first place, but the subtle adjustments on the way down are what are really key here.

To do this transition, I start in regular Tripod Headstand. Then, I quickly rotate the hands around so that they point in the opposite direction. Then, I (rather ungracefully) move the hands together until they touch in the middle, setting them up in Mayurasana position. It’s quite difficult to balance in Tripod with Mayurasana hands, so I don’t waste to much time hanging around here. I move immediately into the transition into full Mayurasana, paying special attention all the way down not to let the weight of my legs pull me down too quickly. This requires me to consciously take my weight forward as I’m coming down. Finally, I settle into full Mayurasana and enjoy the breeze for a few breaths before setting my feet on the ground.

Disclaimer: I am not a certified yoga instructor, and the ideas and opinions expressed here are not intended to be formal instruction on yoga poses. If you plan to start up a yoga practice, or if you have one and plan to do any of the yoga poses described in this blog, please seek out an experienced, living, breathing yoga teacher to guide you with hands-on instruction.

Leave a Reply

