Digital Asana Project

Digital Asana Project: Handstand to Eka Pada Koundinyasana II

Adho Mukha Vrksasana (Handstand) to Eka Pada Koundinyasana II is a pretty exhilarating transition to work into the flow. Sometimes I do this transition just on its own, but I also frequently like to build it into a large asana sequence.

To do this transition, I first come into Handstand and hold it for a few breaths, making sure to have a really solid foundation set in my hands, arms, and shoulders. Then (this next part is a little hard to see in the video), I take my right leg out to the side, keeping it straight the entire time. Slowly, with my legs scissored, I lower my body down and land in Eka Pada Koundinyasana II. I find it important to maintain control all the way down, or almost all the way down, otherwise the whole thing comes crashing down. To do the lower down, I slowly bend my arms and eventually they end up in Chaturana position, which is exactly where they need to be in order to set the right leg on the back of the right arm for Eka II. Most importantly, when I’m lowering down, I don’t just bend my arms and hope to land the transition; there is a constant shifting of the balance as I lower, sometimes more forward and sometimes more towards the back, depending on the positioning of my legs and hips as they come down. In other words, the lower down move is much more dynamic than it may look — it’s all about those subtle muscles making very tiny adjustments along the way.

 

Disclaimer: I am not a certified yoga instructor, and the ideas and opinions expressed here are not intended to be formal instruction on yoga poses. If you plan to start up a yoga practice, or if you have one and plan to do any of the yoga poses described in this blog, please seek out an experienced, living, breathing yoga teacher to guide you with hands-on instruction.

One thought on “Digital Asana Project: Handstand to Eka Pada Koundinyasana II

Leave a Reply

