Digital Asana Project

Digital Asana Project — REVISED

So I’ve been poking around the web and have found that there are already quite a few resources available for pictures and descriptions of yoga poses. One website in particular, run by a teacher in Sacramento, CA, does a good job of going through a great many of the poses in the Ashtanga tradition; here’s the link to the primary series, and you can click through from there to the more advanced stuff. Also, Yoga Journal has a limited but very detailed asana section on their website that has pictures, instructions, etc. Finally, this other site is good and has a lot of pictures and some decent tips, but I think the site is not quite finished yet.

In light of my discovering all these useful online resources for static poses, I’ve decided to revise my own Digital Asana Project. Instead of documenting ALL the yoga poses under the sun (what was I thinking?), I’ll stick to transitions between asanas. This is something I have yet to find on the web. Here’s a sampling of some of the transitions I hope to post pictures and/or videos of.

* Jumping from Down-Dog into Eka Pada Koundinyasana II.

* Lowering from Handstand into Bakasana.

* Lowering from Handstand into Urdvha Kukkutasana, or “upward cock” (yes, that’s really what it’s called)

* Lifting from Bakasana into Handstand.

* Jumping from Down-Dog into Eka Pada Bakasana.

* Switching the legs from Eka Pada Koundinyasana II to Eka Pada Koundinyasana I.

I hope to start tomorrow with jumping into Bakasana from Down-Dog. I just got my new camera, so assuming I can figure out how to work it and how to upload video, the first proper Digital Asana Project posting should be up sometime tomorrow.

Disclaimer: I am not a certified yoga instructor, and the ideas and opinions expressed here are not intended to be formal instruction on yoga poses. If you plan to start up a yoga practice, or if you have one and plan to do any of the yoga poses described in this blog, please seek out an experienced, living, breathing yoga teacher to guide you with hands-on instruction.

Leave a Reply

