Yoga Stuff

Product Review: Jade Harmony Yoga Mat

From time to time, I’ll be reviewing various products — e.g. props, books, dvd’s, mats, etc. — that may be of interest for yogis. This time around, I’m going to be looking at the Jade Harmony 3/16″ thick, 68″ long yoga mat. (You can view all of Jade’s mats and read more about them here.)

THE BAD:

* Not that sticky when I first got it, much to my disappointment.

* For the first few months, the mat smelled really strongly of rubber, not a pleasant smell when you’re doing down dog.

* The mat started to wear away after a little more than a year of use. Not quite the longevity I had hoped for.

* The Jade Harmony is what is known as an open-cell mat. As a result, sweat and whatever else can get into the tiny little pores on the surface of the mat. This makes it a perfect breeding ground for some nasty stuff. What kind of nasty stuff, you ask? Read this.

* I found this mat to be a little on the squishy side, which I didn’t like, especially since I do a lot of handstands and arm balances, and like to feel a firmer connection with the floor.

THE GOOD:

* Environmentally sound (or, at the very least, better than most other mats).

* Did actually become quite sticky once I used it for a couple of weeks, much to my surprise and pleasure.

* Decently heavy; felt like something substantial under the feet and hands, and provided more than adequate cushioning for poses that might need it.

OVERALL: B+

Good mat, wished it had lasted longer. But if your practice doesn’t involve too much jumping around or a lot arm balances, and you don’t mind cleaning your mat pretty regularly, the Jade Harmony might be a good choice for you. Plus, knowing that your mat isn’t going to be sitting in a landfill for 150 years gives you a nice feeling each time you step onto it.

4 thoughts on “Product Review: Jade Harmony Yoga Mat

  1. Pingback: Om Shanti: A Yoga Blog

  2. Pingback: The New Manduka « Om Shanti: A Yoga Blog

  3. Pingback: Yoga Product Review: The Eko by Manduka « Om Shanti: A Yoga Blog

  4. I bought the Jade Harmony mat for environmental reasons. I am so disappointed with it! After using it for over 6 months, it still smells of rubber. During the first 3 months, the smell was hardly tolerable, especially in the 88-degree studio environment in which I practice. I have aired it out, washed it with soapy water, vinegar solution, etc and it still smells. It is also fading – the first signs of deterioration, I guess. I would not recommend this mat to anyone.

Leave a Reply

