Yoga Musings / Yoga News

Yoga Banned in Indonesia!

Muslims in (at least) three countries now, including Indonesia, are officially banned from doing yoga. (The “fatwa”, or religious decree, applies only to the overtly Hindu aspects of yoga, such as chanting, so people pursuing yoga for health or sport are free to continue to do so.) These recent bans raise some interesting questions for me, both as a yoga teacher and as a yoga student. Is yoga a religion? Does my teaching/doing yoga constitute a tacit acceptance or endorsement of Hinduism? Can people of other faiths do yoga, and, if so, under what circumstances?

My basic take on this is that yoga is a religion only if you approach it that way. Personally, I don’t chant or lead my students in mantras during class, although I have no problem with other teachers who do. At the same time, though, I try to approach yoga as something more meaningful to my life than (mere) sport or exercise. I think there is a powerful mental aspect to yoga that, if cultivated properly, can help one to focus better, be less susceptible to emotional¬† ups and downs, live more confidently, etc. And I believe one can pursue all of this without praying to Lord Krishna. There’s a lot of gray area, of course, but I personally try to err on the side of caution and leave out, for instance, chanting “Om” in class or anything else that might be construed in the wrong way. My aim as a teacher is to make my classes as welcoming as possible, which means welcoming people of all different faiths or no faith at all.

There is a legitimate concern, though, that yoga cannot be separated from its religious underpinnings. Many of the poses are named after sages and warriors from the Mahabharata. The practice is, undoubtedly, part of a larger and long-standing religious system. It’s a complicated problem to reconcile the religious history/tradition of yoga with the fact that many people want to practice it in a secular way. I don’t propose to have a perfect solution to this, but I do think a good guiding principle is to always be mindful, both as a teacher and as a student, about what aspects of yoga you adopt and which aspects you do not.

8 thoughts on “Yoga Banned in Indonesia!

  1. Hi I’m a new reader of your blog (just started reading few hours ago after being curios about Visvamitrasana) and I totally love your posts!

    I know this post is like 1 1/2 year old entry but I just need to comment as I am a Muslim living in Malaysia (Indonesia’s neighbour) an we actually have that fatwa over here too. I just want to reply to ‘noodlegirl’ that please don’t just post a “playful” comment regarding religion or other sensitive things cause it may just offend some people.

    I love yoga and been practising it for a few years now. For me yoga brings me awareness of my body, how it moves and how it works, awareness to what I eat and even awareness of how I perform my prayer physically. I don’t agree with the ‘fatwa’ but I understand that there is historical connection between yoga and hinduism and we are discouraged to blindly do or follow anything that incorporates other religion practises in our lives to prevent us straying from Islamic beliefs. For me Muslims can just do yoga as an exercise,something to open our body and mind as well as to become more aware of them.

    However, I must say to everyone not to blindly comment on any religion negatively just because the religion doesn’t agree with your moral values and what you believe in. Cause you might just be wrong in your judgment and what you think you know about it might not be necessarily true.

  2. This course will transform your life! Along with Anamaya’s ultra sound (and ultra tasty) organic food, yoga and meditation makes you in best physical and mental level. In addition to this you will have the great chance to experience the best place of earth called Costa RicaWe are having best facilities on comparable price … find us to be very reasonable in Anamaya, one of the most beautiful stations in the world of yoga. Take advantage and reserve while prices remain below average for a training of 200 hours of yoga teacher.

Leave a Reply

