Digital Asana Project

Digital Asana Project: Jumping from Down-Dog to Sitting

This is a fun transition that essentially combines the techniques and skills developed in the Gorilla Jump and Lolasana.

In this video, I start in a basic Downward-Facing Dog Position. Then, I bend the knees, making sure to take the hips low and almost touching the knees to the mat. I do this to get a nice, deep crouch. One of my teachers calls this the “cat/tiger about to pounce” position.

In order to make the transition as smooth as possible, I take as much weight as possible into my hands, allowing me to float through the transition. This requires me to take my hips high, almost over my shoulders.

Next, I cross my ankles as I begin to lower my legs down. In order to take my legs through my arms without having my feet touch the floor, I engage my core muscles and really suck my legs in tight, almost like I’m trying to make myself into a ball. Basically, in order to swing my legs through, I pass through Lolasana. Finally, before allowing my feet, legs, or butt to touch the ground, I straighten out my legs, and then end up in Dandasana.

This transition requires upper body strength, balance, control, core strength, and focus. In other words, I don’t recommend this for anyone who can’t already do the Gorilla Jump and Lolasana with a high level of proficiency.

Disclaimer: I am not a certified yoga instructor, and the ideas and opinions expressed here are not intended to be formal instruction on yoga poses. If you plan to start up a yoga practice, or if you have one and plan to do any of the yoga poses described in this blog, please seek out an experienced, living, breathing yoga teacher to guide you with hands-on instruction.

One thought on “Digital Asana Project: Jumping from Down-Dog to Sitting

  1. It is perfect time to make a few plans for the long run and it is time to be happy. I have read this post and if I may I desire to counsel you few interesting issues or tips. Maybe you could write next articles regarding this article. I wish to learn even more issues about it!

Leave a Reply

